Reviews - Old Thorn Barn

relaxingwork stay - Rating 5/5

Old Thorn Barn is a warm and welcoming bed and breakfast. The rooms are spacious and you have all you need for a home from home experience. For breakfast you have various options from cereals to a full English breakfast.Its situated in a beautiful spot in the Norfolk countryside and I'll be sure to stay again.

Reviewer:Rachel S | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Richard & Pat Coleman, Newport Pagnell - Rating 5/5

Excellent. Same standards maintained on every visit

Reviewer:richard c | Wed 10th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

This is our second time at The Old Thorn Barn and was just as good as the first. Very friendly, comfortable room and wonderful breakfast. Thank You

Reviewer:David C | Thu 4th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely stay in clean, tidy and extremely comfortable rooms for the group.A fantastic breakfast the following morning and all provided by a great host.Will definitely recommend and will be visiting again.

Reviewer:John B | Tue 2nd Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Excellent in every way - Rating 5/5

great location, for Lotus cars anyway, which is what we wanted. Room was comfortable and well equipped. The owner friendly and the breakfast was great, beautiful home cooked with quality ingredients.

Reviewer:Angela W | Mon 1st Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Super overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for just the one night whilst attendingthe Lotus Driving Academy>Hotel is located just a two minute drive away from the Lotus factory and is a great pace to stay.Breakfast was fantastic and the owner very flexible as we were a late arrival and needed an early start, both were easily negotiated.Rooms are very clean and coffee and biscuits were welcome snack on arrival.will definitely use again if in the area

Reviewer:Rob P | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Attending Wedding - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay,we were made very welcome on arrival, a beautiful clean room and very comfortable bed, the breakfast was excellent quality and great service. A faultless stay.

Reviewer:Mrs Sheelah G | Mon 3rd Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Old Thorn Barn - Rating 4/5

Lovely accommodation, super breakfast, room very clean and attractive surroundings

Reviewer:W | Sun 2nd Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Bank Holiday Weekend - Rating 5/5

Have stayed here before and it doesn’t change. Warm welcome and all you could want in comfort

Reviewer:Bridget H | Tue 28th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Brilliant place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Clean, comfortable, friendly place to stay.Best breakfast in Norfolk.Have been before and would book again any time in the area.

Reviewer:Mary S | Thu 16th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 5 nights brilliant as usual, will be back next year

Reviewer:Mr. Clive E | Tue 14th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Comfortable,very clean & friendly - Rating 5/5

Spacious room with even a more spacious bed led to a very comfortable two night stay whilst visiting relatives nearby. Very clean room and ensuite with use of small kitchen. Good choice of homecooked breakfast. Very friendly hosts. We will return !

Reviewer:Debbie L | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


No Thorns in the Beautiful Barn - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at the Old Thorn Barn numerous times, and each time I have stayed I have found the owner and his staff most welcoming, and my favorite room very comfortable, with everything in it I need. The breakfasts are delicious, and bountiful. The location is easy to access with plenty of free parking. It is my home away from home when I am visiting Norfolk.

Reviewer:Carolyn Morris O | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely little place - Rating 5/5

Our group of three recently stayed for two nights to attend a wedding in the area. We couldn't fault Old Thorn Barn - it was spotlessly clean, well priced and the lovely breakfast was a bonus. The beds were very comfy too! Noise travelled quite easily in the communal areas but it wouldn't put me off staying again - we just got unlucky and had a group of early risers staying at the same time! Aside from that, we really enjoyed our stay and appreciated having access to a fridge and the communal lounge area. We would definitely stay here again if we're ever in the area.

Reviewer:Jenny G | Wed 8th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Family outpost - Rating 5/5

Always my B& B of choice since B19 motor club have been running events ar Hethel, and now with my brother resident in Cringleford with no spare room, yours is much more comfortable than his settee! In any case he can't produce such a wonderful breakfast !

Reviewer:Alan B | Tue 7th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Spot as Always - Rating 5/5

We stay at The Old Thorn Whenever we are in the area. Danny is the perfect host, everything is as you would want and nothing is too much trouble. The Old Thorn Barn is a delightful place to stay. Many thanks for your superb hospitality

Reviewer:roger g | Mon 6th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

Old Thorn Barn was very welcoming from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, Hosts were great. Room was very comfortable and clean, breakfast was indeed hearty, would definitely stay here again

Reviewer:Ian B | Mon 30th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely Stay and very clean good warm welcome.Would stay again

Reviewer:master seal neil e | Fri 27th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


would come again.. - Rating 4/5

nice house and housekeepers, rooms clean, good breakfast..would strongly recommend it..!

Reviewer:P | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Weekend Stay - Rating 5/5

Very clean and comfortable rooms.Breakfast was excellent.Visiting Snetterton during our stay which was 15 minutes down the road and gave very easy access.Couldn't have been better.

Reviewer:Mrs Paula B | Wed 20th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Great place to stay and base for a visit to Norfolk - Rating 5/5

We have stayed here before and it never disappoints. Great location, great people and great place. Good value for money and we had another most enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Iain B | Sun 17th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


well satisfied - Rating 5/5

Well appointed room, efficient courteous service. Good breakfast with plenty of choices. Only downside, there was nowhere for an evening meal within walking distance.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne B | Fri 1st Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


One night stay - Rating 4/5

Very friendly,helpful,willing to meet needs

Reviewer:Mr John A | Mon 28th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Lotus Locale - Rating 5/5

Right around the corner from the Lotus works, a nice room and great breakfast from cheery staff. Can't ask for more, at a great price!

Reviewer:Thomas P | Sat 19th May 2018 | 6 months ago


A night to remember - Rating 5/5

Stayed a Old Thorn Barn for one night prior to visit to Lotus Cars. A warm welcome on arrival, very nice room with a very comfortable bed. Good breakfast in morning. Would thoroughly reccomend if you are visiting Lotus or Norwich.

Reviewer:Ian N | Sun 13th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Fabulous as Always - Rating 5/5

The Old Thorn is my preferred choice of stay wheneever I am in the areas. Danny our host is charming and helpful. The accommodation is first rate. I miss out on the cooked breakfast due to an early start but there is always a selection of cereals yoghurts and fruit juice for the early riser. I am already booked for my nest visit!

Reviewer:Roger G | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


Great place - Lotus visit - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay. Very friendly and attentive host. Perfect room with a great breakfast. Very close to Lotus Cars. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Thorsten H | Tue 27th Mar 2018 | 8 months ago


Great Place to Stay for Visiting Lotus - Rating 5/5

Very nice and cosy place to stay with great breakfast, very attentive host and just minutes away from Lotus Cars.

Reviewer:Taro T | Mon 26th Mar 2018 | 8 months ago


Like being at home - Rating 5/5

I stayed for one night in this lovely B& B. It was warm, peaceful and welcoming. I enjoyed sitting in the lounge area and wandering around in my slippers. It was like being at home. Old Thorn Barn was easy to find and the room was comfortable. I would definately recommend it and hope to go back in the future.

Reviewer:Helen C | Sun 4th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


Business Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent value for money.High quality premises with very helpful owners. Have stayed here annually for many years.

Reviewer:Bribar Table T | Tue 28th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Hethel visit - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean place with very friendly and helpful staff, and just minuets from lotus cars. Recommended

Reviewer:Andrew L | Sat 25th Nov 2017 | 12 months ago


Old Thorn Barn - Rating 3/5

We like to stay here when visiting our family who live close by. As always a warm welcome & friendly staff. Clean, comfortable room and delicious breakfast.

Reviewer:Glynis V | Sat 18th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Great breakfast and warm welcome - Rating 5/5

I had a great stay at Old Thorn Barn.Warm welcome, great breakfast, easy parking and cosy rooms.

Reviewer:Philip von P | Mon 6th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Cosy and friendly - Rating 5/5

Clean, cosy, friendly and good value for money. Shower water a bit weak but still won't affect my overall excellent rating.

Reviewer:Eric N | Mon 6th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Superb experience - Rating 5/5

I stayed in Old Thorn Barn for attending Lotus Driving courses.Greeted by very friendly owner on my arrival.I needed to make some purchase from the supermarket but I didn't drive, owner was very kind and drove me to the nearby supermarket.Room was clean and tidy, comfortable , quiet and happy stay for three nights.I also saw a Lotus super car at the parking lot!Location was amazing, very close to Lotus Driving Academy and factory.If you are attending Lotus events, this is the place you should stay.Another Lotus event attendee also stayed here and we became friends.Breakfast was very good.A variety of cereals, juices, fruits and flexible choice of breakfast.I highly recommend Old Thorn Barn.Will definitely come back if I visit Hethel/Norwich again in the future.

Reviewer:Li king l | Tue 31st Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Feel home - Rating 4/5

Nice Place for a Weekend at Lotus track event . 2 Minis Ride. Kind and friendly owner who is helping in and situation. I had a lovely weekend at old Thorn Barn.Would be great to have an offer of drinks in the evening

Reviewer:Koenig, M | Tue 24th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


A fantastic place to stay- Rating 5/5

Located in the beautiful Norwich countryside this establishment is first class. Lovely accommodation & a great breakfast, also run by very friendly & nice people.

Reviewer:Mr Anthony M | Sun 22nd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Place.- Rating 5/5

Pleasure to return to Old Thorn Barn. As always a very warm friendly welcome. Rooms are lovely and beds very comfortable.Breakfast a real treat fresh local priduce cooked brilliantly. Thank you. See you soon.

Reviewer:Linda M | Mon 16th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


One night stay- Rating 4/5

Lovely place... nice clean and comfortable, great spreadfor breakfast... only mark down was himself would prefer fried bread to hash browns and baked beans with the full English breakfast ... will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:nikki w | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


A fine Norfolk B & B. - Rating 5/5

Stayed 3 nights at this excellent B & B. On arrival we were given the choice of a room with bath or a shower. It turned out to be more than adequate. Ample car parking. Breakfast was first class using local produce. Brilliant sausages! Would definitely stay at the Old Thorn Barn again.

Reviewer:Terry J | Sun 8th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


A weekend of racing - Rating 5/5

This is the third time we have stayed at Old Thorn Barn. Danny is a lovely host and the breakfast is excellent. The rooms are lovely and beds are comfortable. Will be back next year.

Reviewer:Mel T | Thu 5th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Visit to Thorn Barn - Rating 5/5

I have traveled to 45 countries and stayed in some of the (so called) best hotels in the world. Frankly, Thorn Barn must be one of the best. They care about their visitors and as for the breakfast >fantastic. We will be going back.

Reviewer:Mr. William D | Fri 29th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Another 1st class stay - Rating 5/5

Great venue. Great host – even running us across to a local pub in his car. Comfy rooms & first class breakfast. What more could you want. We’ll be back next year – again!

Reviewer:Treve R | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Visit to Lotus Cars - Rating 4/5

Nice stay for two nights, room was confortable and very clean, breakfeast good. The best location for people who plan a visit to Lotus Cars.Thanks for the welcome.Pierre Dufour

Reviewer:D | Thu 14th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent in all ways - accommodation, cleanliness, food, friendliness. Cannot fault it at all. will be back as soon as possible!

Reviewer:K L | Mon 11th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely accommodation - Rating 5/5

Our overnight stay was very comfortable would definitely recommend old thorn barn

Reviewer:b | Mon 4th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Highly Recommend - Rating 5/5

Second time of staying,beautiful and quiet surroundingsdelightful accommodation a home from home with a very hearty breakfastwill be staying again for sure!

Reviewer:Mark F | Mon 4th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


A lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

A very welcoming establishment.Rooms are a good size, nicely furnished and with comfy beds.Good shower and plenty of hot water.Breakfast is superb and served in a lovely room.Certainly the best place to stay if you are visiting the factory and track at Hethel.Parking is good and Lotus friendly.

Reviewer:Marion T | Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - close to Lotus - Rating 5/5

We booked Old Thorn Barn on several recommendations from within the Lotus community, and were very happy with our choice. It is the nearest accommodation to the Lotus factory, where we had booked a factory tour. Danny and Carol were great hosts, very friendly and welcoming, but also respecting our privacy. The accommodation, in a small outbuilding, was excellent. Very clean and comfortable. A good selection of tea, coffee, and biscuits was available in the room, and we also had access to a small communal kitchen with a microwave and fridge - useful for snacks and keeping the wine chilled! We wouldn't hesitate to return in the future, and highly recommend the Old Thorn Barn.

Reviewer:Mr. Bryan B | Sun 27th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Great service and comfortable premises- Rating 5/5

Very happy, stayed overnight for Lotus Factory tours (in walking distance), staff is very nice and helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. LuigiL | Tue 22nd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


experience @ Old Thorn barn - Rating 5/5

with my wife we really enjoyed spending 2 days at Old Thorn Barn. This is a pretty quiet place, rooms are large and comfortable, and our hosts were very friendly and customer oriented, big thanks for the experience.

Reviewer:Mr. Pascal G | Tue 22nd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


24hr race weekend - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Ild Thorn Barn many times always made to feel welcome by Danny who does a great job and makes a fantastic breakfast. As we were at the race circuit for a 24 hour race we had 3 rooms in the court yard at the back which was great as we were keeping unusual hours. Had a great stay and will be back next month.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie W | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


A Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at the Old Thorn Barn a few times when working in the area and am never disappointed.The rooms are very clean and comfortable and have everything you need plus more. The breakfast is plentiful and cooked perfectly.I would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends.Thank you for another lovely stay....

Reviewer:Debbie J | Fri 18th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


4 Day Stay - Rating 5/5

I cannot recommended the old thorn barn enough, excellent.We will be back again next year

Reviewer:Mr. Clive E | Thu 17th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


The Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

Another marvelous weekend with Danny at The Old Thorn Barn. As welcoming as eve and superb facilities. Always first choice when visiting the area

Reviewer:Mr. roger g | Mon 7th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Highly Recommended !!! - Rating 5/5

I've stayed at Old Thorn Barn a few times when I am in the area. Lovely peaceful accommodation, everything you could wish for. Excellent cooked breakfast. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mitchell P | Mon 7th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a wonderful stay, rooms are clean, breakfast was great, hospitality exceptional. We will definitely be returning and will recommend to everyone. Thank you once again

Reviewer:Gabi K | Tue 1st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


weekend get away - Rating 5/5

A beautiful base for our stay for the weekend spent exploring the Norfolk countryside and Broads.very clean room- comfortable bed-lovely bath with shower over-all the comforts of home! Followed by a very hearty breakfast in morning with lots of variety.Would most definitely recommend and hope to stay again later in the summer.

Reviewer:Mark F | Wed 5th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Business and Pleasure - Rating 5/5

First Time at this lovely B& B.. Stayed as part of a business trip and cannot fault it. I will hopefully be making regular B& B bookings to "Old Thorn Barn"in the near future. Its a pleasure to stay in such a lovely place,

Reviewer:David N | Mon 3rd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Fab! - Rating 5/5

Old Thorn Barn was a recommendation from a friend, and they weren't wrong. Right location, right accommodation, right friendly personalisation!!

Reviewer:Mr. Kenton (Ken) G | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Again wonderful accommodation and good welcome - Rating 5/5

I've stayed here on a number of occasions over the last 12 years. Every time there is a pleasant welcome, a top star room and great food.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael C | Mon 29th May 2017 | 1 year ago


B & B - Rating 5/5

found everything to our liking and very comfortable.Would certainly recommend and would stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Peter J | Mon 29th May 2017 | 1 year ago


One of the best B&B we have stayed in - Rating 5/5

We had 3 nights here and it was great ,great beds,great room with all special bits and pieces. Have the full English break it is to die for also loads of other options. Owners very friendly and helpful,will go again if we are in that area big thanks to all for making our stay great.

Reviewer:Mr. BrianA | Thu 25th May 2017 | 1 year ago


old thorn barn - Rating 5/5

great location, countryside, close to major travel routes, excellent accomo & breakfast, attention to detail with a personal touch

Reviewer:Ms. Janice C | Mon 22nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Stay 28/29 April 2017 - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room, good breakfast, welcoming staff.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark W | Wed 3rd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Trackday Accommodation - Rating 5/5

Perfect for the Lotus factory.Good accommodation and great breakfasts.Will be back.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil P | Mon 1st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely near Lotus - Rating 5/5

Great value, great service, nice rooms. Location couldn't be better for visiting Lotus Cars.

Reviewer:Mr. mark h | Sun 30th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Another lovely stay - Rating 5/5

I consider The Old Thorn Barn my home away from home while I visit with family who live nearby in Mulbarton village. My room is very comfortable, and everything necessary for a relaxing stay is provided. The breakfasts are a delight, and the owner and his staff are always friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Ms. CAROLYN O | Mon 17th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Fabulous Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at The Old Thorn Barn on many occasions and it is always my first choice when in the area. Danny is a great host - welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are always prsitine and the food excellent

Reviewer:Mr. roger g | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Very Comfortable - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable room with everything you need. Lovely breakfast with a great choice. I have stayed here before and it's my first choice of stay if i am at Lotus. I would definenately recommend Old Thorn Barn.

Reviewer:Mr. Mitchell P | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Very Comfortable - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable room with everything you need. Lovely breakfast with a great choice. I have stayed here before and it's my first choice of stay if i am at Lotus. I would definenately recommend Old Thorn Barn.

Reviewer:Mr. Mitchell P | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Best in Norfolk - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation comfortable clean complete and with the personal touches that help make it stand out as the best in Norfolk. Reasonably priced, friendly and a great breakfast. Will always be my first choice in the Norwich area.

Reviewer:Mr. Phil N | Thu 22nd Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Best in Norfolk - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation comfortable clean complete and with the personal touches that help make it stand out as the best in Norfolk. Reasonably priced, friendly and a great breakfast. Will always be my first choice in the Norwich area.

Reviewer:Mr. Phil N | Thu 22nd Dec 2016 | 1 year ago